Сменить Пароль

Advanced Search
Your search results

Skype в Дубае: разрешен или запрещен?

Published on May 26, 2017 by Dubai Apartment

Skype в Дубае

Работает ли Skype в Дубае: мифы и правда

Skype — это самая удобная программа для видеообщения и незаменимый инструмент для тех, чьи родственники живут в другом городе или стране, а также для туристов, желающих быть на связи в путешествиях. А работает ли Skype в Дубае?

В сети часто попадаются сообщения о том, что местные провайдеры блокируют эту программу и для общения с родней и друзьями приходится использовать дорогостоящую мобильную связь. Так ли это на самом деле?

Что было раньше?

Skype в ДубаеSkype действительно был запрещен в ОАЭ до 2009 года, хотя умельцы все же находили способы общаться. В мае 2013 года в сети пустили «пугалку», что для использования программы нужно получить официальное разрешение TRA, а если этого не сделать, то согласно ст.71 Акта о телекоммуникациях можно попасть в тюрьму сроком на 2 года, еще и уплатив штраф в размере AED 50 тыс.-1 млн.

На сайте Skype появилось сообщение о том, что их службы заблокированы в ОАЭ местными поставщиками услуг Интернета, и руководство ничего не может с этим поделать. Рекомендовалось договариваться с провайдером и требовать отмену блокировки.

С помощью запрета на использование Skype в Дубае Du и Etisalat стремились поднять доходы от международных звонков. Только представьте, как бы возросла их прибыль, если бы огромное количество иностранцев, проживающих в Дубае и использующих Skype, стали бы осуществлять звонки только с мобильных.

Как обстоят дела сейчас?

На данный момент Skype в Дубае официально разрешен и работает без перебоев. Так что, планируя переезд или отправляясь в отпуск, вы можете не переживать — видеоконференциям с близкими не помешают никакие запреты.

Работает ли Skype в Дубае? Правда ли, что за его использование можно попасть в тюрьму? Есть ли в общественных местах бесплатный Wi-Fi? Ответы в статье…

Бесплатный Wi-Fi доступен во всех торговых центрах, во многих ресторанах и кафе, и даже кальянных. Например, в кофейне Gloria Jean’s пароль от Wi-Fi предоставляется при заказе чашечки кофе.

Skype в Дубае

Но не все так радужно. Недавно, в июле 2016 года, был принят новый закон №12, запрещающий использование в ОАЭ VPN и прокси серверов. Здесь вы не сможете воспользоваться Viber, WhatsApp, SnapChat, Facebook Messenger и некоторыми другими сервисами VoIP. Доступны только дорогие «легальные» сервисы провайдеров Du, да и Etisalat и вообще Интернет тщательно профильтрован.

Leave a Reply

Reset Password

Advanced Search
Your search results

Skype in Dubai: allowed or forbidden?

Published on May 26, 2017 by Dubai Apartment

Skype in Dubai

Can one use Skype in Dubai: myths and real truth

Skype is the most convenient and easy to use application for video chatting. It’s also the best and irreplaceable tool for those who have parents or relatives in other cities or even countries. It’s also the best solution for tourists who want to stay online during their trips. But let’s discover if it’s possible to use Skype in Dubai.

You can find a lot of messages online, saying that local internet providers are blocking Skype in order to make you using expensive cellular networks to reach your relatives and friends. Is it really like that?

How was it before?

Skype in Dubai

It’s worth noting that Skype was really prohibited in UAE before the beginning of 2009. However, people managed to find other ways to call each other. In May 2013 someone posted “scary” article telling that one has to get official approval of TRA in order to use the program. Failing to do that one could get into the jail for 2 years in accordance with Section 71 of the Telecommunication ACT. Furthermore, one has to pay fine starting from AED 50 000 and up to AED 1 000 000.

The official website of Skype was saying that their services had been blocked in UAE by local providers and they couldn’t do anything to solve the situation. Official representatives recommended contacting local providers demanding them to stop blocking Skype.

Two cellular carriers Du and Etisalat used Skype in Dubai ban to get more profits from roaming and international calls. Just imagine that all foreigners in Dubai who were using Skype would have started using only mobile phones to make calls.

What happens now?

For today, Skype in Dubai is officially allowed and works like in any other country. Thus, you don’t have to worry if you are going to have a holiday in Dubai. Nothing will stop you if you decided to make a video conference with your relatives or friends.

Free WiFi networks can be found in the majority of shopping malls, restaurants, cafes and even hookah lounges. For example, one can get free password after buying a cup of coffee in Gloria Jean’s.

Is it possible to use Skype in Dubai? Is it true that one can easily get into a jail for using it? Is there public WiFi in Dubai? Read the article and you can find all the answers…

But you may still face some problems. New Law No. 12 was officially put in force in July 2016. This law strictly prohibits all VPN and proxy servers on the territory of UAE. That means you won’t be able to use Viber, WhatsApp, SnapChat, Facebook Messengerand several other VoIP services. One can use only so-called “legal” services of Du and Etisalat. In other words, the web is thoroughly filtered and controlled here.

Skype in Dubai

Leave a Reply